Do items change size alter self in Pathfinder? This is a question that often arises among players and game masters of the popular tabletop role-playing game, Pathfinder. The concept of items changing size and how it affects the “alter self” spell is a nuanced one, and understanding its implications can greatly enhance the enjoyment and depth of your game. In this article, we will delve into this topic and provide a comprehensive explanation of how items changing size can impact the use of the “alter self” spell in Pathfinder.
The “alter self” spell in Pathfinder allows a character to change their form, appearance, or physical characteristics temporarily. This spell can be incredibly useful for a variety of situations, such as stealth, disguise, or even transforming into a creature for combat. However, when it comes to items, the question of whether they change size along with the character’s transformation is a matter of debate.
One school of thought suggests that items do change size when a character uses the “alter self” spell. This is based on the premise that the spell alters the character’s physical form, and as a result, any items in their possession should also change size accordingly. This would mean that a character who transforms into a smaller creature, such as a goblin, would also have their items shrink to the appropriate size.
On the other hand, there is another perspective that argues that items do not change size when a character uses the “alter self” spell. This viewpoint is supported by the fact that the spell’s description does not explicitly mention any changes to the character’s possessions. Additionally, there is no rule in the Pathfinder rulebook that states that items must change size when their owner is transformed.
So, which perspective is correct? The answer lies in the interpretation of the rules and the desired outcome of the game. If you, as a game master, want to ensure that items change size along with the character, you can establish this as a house rule. This can be particularly useful in scenarios where the size of the items would significantly impact the game’s mechanics, such as when attempting to hide or carry objects.
However, if you prefer to keep the items at their original size, you can also argue that the “alter self” spell only affects the character’s physical form and not their possessions. This interpretation allows for a more traditional gameplay experience, where the size of the items remains constant regardless of the character’s transformation.
In conclusion, whether items change size when a character uses the “alter self” spell in Pathfinder is ultimately up to the game master’s discretion. By understanding the different interpretations of the rules and the potential impacts on gameplay, you can make an informed decision that best suits your preferred style of play. Whether you choose to allow items to change size or keep them at their original size, remember that the most important aspect of any role-playing game is having fun and creating memorable experiences with your fellow players.